Time for some references!

Good news: I’ve been getting inquiries lately about my services as a writing tutor! So, I’m excited about that!

I can’t tell you how much I’ve gotten just so far out of leading my writers group, and we’ve only been around for a couple of months! I’ve met some people and it’s really gotten me thinking both about my freelance writing practice and my creative goals as a writer!

Even though the writers group is for writing, not business, one of my goals is to make a business of my writing and I’ve gotten a lot of great ideas about how to market myself and how to sell my words to the world!

The topic for the next writers group is developing simple disciplines. In another business I’m building part time, I’ve been exposed to the idea that being successful is a marathon, not a sprint, and that the truly successful people are the ones who are able to do simple things that make a difference consistently over time. I think it’s the same thing with writing. One of the things I’ve noticed about writers, including myself, is that we can be hyper-critical about our writing and about ourselves. It’s a human thing, I think, that we all do, but I think writers are especially susceptible to it since we are creating something and it’s easy to criticize what we create.

One simple discipline that I’ve started is to post to this blog! It may not seem like a big deal, but if I can maintain a writing practice in one area of my life I think it will be easier to bring the creative energy that results to other areas of my life as well, such as writing a novel or creating other, shorter writing projects!

A few weeks ago I put out a craigslist posting advertising my freelance writing and writing coach services — I posted the text on this blog, so you can scroll back and read it — and I’ve started to get inquires into what I do, mostly tutoring grade school children!

As a result of these inquiries, it’s prompting me to take my business to the next level! So, someone today asked me for references and while I have tutored with lots of other people and I could even ask some of my current students or their parents to vouch for my professionalism and the service that I provide, I don’t have that list compiled at the moment and ready to rattle off, although I am in the process of putting it together!

So, just as a side note, if you are a friend of mine with whom I’ve tutored, or if you and I know each other in some way and you think you could vouch for the services that I provide, let me know and I will put you on my list so when people ask I can give them third-party testimonials or contacts!

I’ve also started to brainstorm things that I could do to bring my writing practice and freelance and tutoring business to the next level! One of the ideas I had today was that I could lead virtual meetings with the software I’m subscribed to for people who are interested in increasing their knowledge and comfort level with the written word. I could offer these virtual workshops for free, and it would get people to read this blog and give people a forum to find out about me, and I bet it would generate some business as well when people want to work with me one-on-one with their writing projects or to get coaching individually!

What gave me the idea is that one of my students canceled an upcoming appointment with me, not because she has a specific complaint about the work that we’re doing together, but just because she doesn’t have anything really big that she needs us to work on and she is trying to be wise with her time and her money. Which I can totally appreciate, but how great would it be if I could offer free virtual workshops that supplement the work that we do in person, and would give potential prospects a live example of the kind of work that I do for my clients?

This is the true joy in being an entrepreneurial thinker, I think — creating creative new ideas that make a difference for people and also forward the action in my business! How great is that? I will always be someone who wants to make a difference for everyone involved!

I hope you’re getting value out of reading this blog! I would love to hear from you! Please feel free to drop me a line!

2 thoughts on “Time for some references!

Leave a Reply

