It’s called Networking, not net-sucking…

Dear readers,

I went to an awesome networking event for wedding vendors last night with my friend who is an amazing freelance pastry chef!

Her name is Melissa Paul and her company is called Vivacious Cakes! Check out her website here!

While I am a freelance writer and this blog is all about transforming the written word, I hope to break into the wedding industry and become a wedding singer! (Now there’s something about your favorite freelance writer that I bet you didn’t know!)

My specialty right now as a writer is helping to create and revise resumes and assist professionals in transition. It’s amazing to me the magic that happens when you break out of the comfort zone and get yourself out there amongst others!

For instance, while I shared with the folks I met last night that I am an aspiring wedding singer, and actually met a singing DJ, a couple of bona fide experienced wedding singers, and a bunch of other very cool wedding-related people, I got a very viable lead as a freelance writer, as well! How cool is that?

Why do you care, dear reader? Well, if you are a professional in transition, or if you know someone who has been recently laid off or is looking to advance their career, creating, revising or updating their resume might be just the thing they need to sharpen their image and prepare for an interview or the next step!

One of the things I’m learning for myself is that the more you put yourself out there, the more unexpected (and fortuitous) things can come your way.

By the way, what do you think of the title of this blog post? I got it from the title of an article I was exposed to through a networking group with which I participate. I thought it was funny! 🙂

I want to hear from you! Your thoughts are welcome. Let’s take this thing to the next level!

Leave a Reply

